Bengaluru: Abhishek Reddy slammed an unbeaten century and shared an unbroken stand with spinner J Suchith as KSCA XI continued to call the shots against Cricket Association of Bengal in the KSCA Dr (Capt) K Thimmappiah memorial cricket tournament here on Wednesday.

After bowling out CAB for 235 for the addition of just 10 overs in the morning, KSCA, with a healthy lead of 140 runs, went in pursuit of quick runs at the RSI ground on the third day of the contest. This meant they kept losing wickets at regular but the heavy first innings lead always helped them stay well ahead of Bengal.

Reduced to 231/7, KSCA were in danger of being bowled out on the third day but Abhishek had other plans. The right-hander hammered 166 not out (247b, 22×4, 1×6) and shared an unbeaten 108-run stand with Suchith (40) as KSCA XI ended the day at 339, opening up a massive 479-run lead.

Big defeat

KSCA Secretary’s XI produced a fighting display in their second innings but the pathetic performance in the first essay saw them crash to a 10-wicket defeat against Bangladesh Cricket Board XI at the Chinnaswamy Stadium.

Resuming from their overnight score of 100/3, Secretary’s XI needed to bat through the day if they entertained any hopes of drawing the contest after being bowled out for 79 on the first morning.

Abhinav Manohar hit a fine 117 while Praveen Dubey (55) and Vinay N Sagar (59) cracked fifties as Secretary’s XI were bowled out for 340 in 85.2 overs. Defending an 86-run target with five sessions left was never going to be easy and Bangladesh galloped home in 24.1 overs.

DH News Service

Brief scores: At RSI: KSCA XI: 375 all out in 117.3 overs and 339/7 in 87 overs (Abhishek Reddy 166 n.o., Siddharth 39, Sharath Srinivas 30, Suchith J 40 n.o.; Durgesh Dubey 2-29, Mithilesh Das 2-66) vs Cricket

Association of Bengal: 235 all out in 60 overs (Kazi Junaid Saifi 140 n.o.;

Suchith J 4-80).

At Kini Sports Arena: Mumbai Cricket Association: 418/9 in 112 overs vs KSCA Colts: 221/4 in 74 overs (Devdutt Padikkal 54, Abheet Kuthpady 57, Smaran R 54, Kishan S Bedare 31 n.o.; Shreyas Gurav 2-50).

At BGS: Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association: 208 all out in 72.3 overs and 161/5 in 63 overs (Priyanshu Khandari 88 n.o., Nikhil Ganta 26; Sijomon Joseph 2-27, Akshay KC 2-46) vs Kerala Cricket Association: 145 all out in 47.3 overs (Robin Uthappa 48, Vinoop Manoharan 36; Arpit Guleria 2-26, Vipin Sharma 2-48, Kanwar Abhinay 3-40, Mayank Dagar 2-26).

At Chinnaswamy Stadium: KSCA Secretary’s XI: 79 all out in 41 overs and 340 all out in 85.2 overs (Abhinav Manohar 117, Praveen Dubey 55, Vinay N Sagar 59; Shohidul Islam 2-117, Ebadot Hossain 3-84, Ariful Haque 2-57, Monimul Haque 2-5) lt to Bangladesh Cricket Board XI: 334 all out in 102.3 overs and 86 for no loss in 24.1 overs (Jahurul Islam 32 n.o., Shadman Islam 52 n.o.). BCB XI: 7; KSCA Secretary’s XI: 0.

At Just Cricket: Team Rajasthan: 246 all out in 91.4 overs and 64/3 in 33 overs (Manendra Singh 28 n.o.) vs Chhattisgarh State Cricket Sangh: 381 all out in 137.4 overs (Punit Datey 78; Mahipal Lomror 4-62, Shubham S 3-79).

At Alur (3): Dr DY Patil Cricket Academy: 704/7 decl in 155 overs and 9 for no loss in 2 overs vs Vidarbha Cricket Association: 385 all out in 104.4 overs (Atharva Taide 37, Sanjay R 57, Nayan Chavan 26, Ganesh Satish 49, Mohit Kale 49, Yash Rathod 54, Atharva Deshpande 54 n.o.; Mukesh Choudhary 5-80, Iqbal Abdullah 3-112).

At Mysore: SDRNW: Jharkhand State Cricket Association: 141 all out in 41.5 overs and 130/3 in 32 overs (Utkarsh Singh 58 n.o., Sumit Kumar 35) vs KSCA President’s XI: 261 all out in 77.1 overs (Nihal Ullal 53, Ritesh Bhatkal 71, Prithviraj 40; Ajay Yadav 3-46, Ashish Kumar 2-81, Supriyo Chakraborty 2-6).

SJCE: Madhya Pradesh Cricket Association: 219 all out in 89.4 overs and 26/1 in 13 overs vs Andhra Cricket Association: 239 all out in 75.5 overs (Girinath Reddy P 32, Shoib Mohd Khan 104, D Swaroop Kumar 27; Piyush Gurjer 5-75, Ravi Yadav 4-39).

Rohit Kumar founded Vimocafe in 2016. He covers Entertainment news from the Hindi, Tamil, Telugu and Kannada Film industries.